Trainspotting Keeps My Happy, Happy

Ah, the blues. We all get em. Whether you call it being pissy, moody, in the dumps, or the Oprahs, it all means the same thing: you want to grab a pint of Ben & Jerry’s Chunky Monkey, pop in Say Anything, and pretend that the scene where John Cusack holds a boombox over his head outside Ione Skye’s house is not creepy/stalker-like. It is romantic – I tells ya!

Over the past few years I have found an alternative to the above scenario. Hush now, with all of your accusations; I still love Say Anything, Chunk Monkey, and hate Oprah. Alls I am saying is that there is an option we should all consider. And that wonderful option is the heroin-induced romp Trainspotting.

If this does not pick up your sad life, nothing will.

When I first moved into my current abode in December 2009, I opted out of getting cable or any of those new fangled dishes. That left me with NPR and my DVD player. As fate would have it, at the same time I ordered a copy of Trainspotting from Amazon. Mark Renton (Ewan McGregor) and his junkie pals started to become a daily fixture in my life. I would come home for lunch, turn on the DVD player, press play, and be filled with whatever random scene of crazy Scottish accents I happened to have left off at.

That period of time lasted well over a month and embedded me with a love of the movie. It is hardly a perfect movie. The plot is loose (to say the least) and at times disjointed. Being about heroin means that you do not care what happens to most/all of the characters. Being about heroin also means that there are some disturbing scenes. It is first half heavy (entertainment-wise). And it is about Brits.

All of that junk hardly matters, for this thing is loaded with kinetic energy. Hell, it begins with a running Mark Renton from the cops to the wicked beat of Iggy Pop’s Lust for Life, and barely slows down from there. It is loaded with dark humor, clever camera work, and a killer soundtrack. The disjointed nature of the film makes it perfect for rewatching when you have other stuff to do. You do not have to sit down and follow the plot. Rather, you can have it on and only stop what you are doing when one of your favorite parts (Begbie throwing his glass over his shoulder) is on, then continue to go about your business. Plus, as a cherry-on-the-top, there is a dead baby walking on the ceiling scene that is just a hoot!

As for the disturbing stuff in the movie, well, I have no soul – so it does not affect me.

Next time you are down and instinctively go for John Cusack (I can hardly blame ya), think it over. Maybe a good dose of junkies is what your wayward day really needs.

About Judas Pato

Just another hard working member of the press, covering the Chicago Bulls and nonsense - often both, simultaneously.
This entry was posted in Concise Thoughts, Movies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

